EPISODE 119 - The Grudge

Previously on DALLAS:

-------------Jimmy breathed a sigh of relief when Justin's memory of the accident had not returned.

-------------John Ross asked Bum to find out who was responsible for the explosion in California.

-------------Cliff, Mitch, Steven, Bum, and Tripp met with Harrison Van Buren in Columbus, Georgia, and he told them about the cabin in Ontario where Scott might have taken Afton and Pamela.

-------------Bobby, Ray, Christopher, and Lucas hatched a plan to trap Peyton Allen.

-------------Lucas delivered the ransom money to Peyton, but the plan backfired when Peyton's son caught Christopher and Ray watching the Allen house.

Waco, Texas.....Peyton Allen's home

"Okay, you two,"  Peyton Allen's son says to Ray and Christopher as he holds a gun on them.  "Outta the car."

 

"Look, if you'll just let us go on our way,"  Christopher says.

 

"I said, out of the car.  NOW!  And keep your hands where I can see 'em."

 

Reluctantly, Ray and Christopher open their doors and step out of the car.  

 

"Go on.  Move,"  Peyton's son tells them.  With his gun still on the two men, he marches them across the street and into his house.  They walk into the small living room and Peyton's son closes the door behind him.  "Now then, why don't you two fellas just tell me what the hell you're doin', sittin' in front of my house watchin'."

 

"Look, we already told you,"  Christopher says.  "We're lost, and....."

 

"And.......you're LYIN',"  says Peyton's son.  "Now I want the truth......."  He raises the gun and points it directly at Christopher.  "And I want it NOW."

 

"Why don't you just calm down, now, son,"  Ray says.  "Put the gun down, and we'll talk."

 

"Nope, here's what's gonna happen, old man.  You tell me what you were doin' here, or........I exercise my right to defend my home.  Now which is it gonna be?  You bein' here.....this have somethin' to do with my old man?"

 

"Your old man?"  Christopher asks.  "Who's your old man?"

 

"A no account bum named Peyton Allen."

 

Ray and Christopher exchange looks, arousing Peyton's son's suspicions.

 

"There, see, I KNEW it,"  he says.  "The look on your faces.  You do know that old bum, don't ya?  And if you lie to me.......you'll be sorry."

 

"Alright, alright,"  Ray says.  "Yeah.  I know your old man."

 

"Where from?  Were you in prison with him"

 

"No,"  Ray replies.  

 

"Then where do you know him from?"

 

Ray and Christopher again exchange looks.  

 

Losing patience with the two men, Peyton's son points his gun directly at Christopher.  "I'm gonna ask you one more time.......where do you know Peyton from?  And who the hell are you?  Lie to me, and I shoot him."

 

"Alright, alright, just calm down,"  Ray says.   "My name is Ray Krebbs.  I met Peyton a long time ago.  He and I have a little bit of a score to settle."

 

"Well, pleased to meet ya there, Ray.  I'm Heath.  Heath Allen."  Heath looks at Christopher.  "And who are you?"

 

"Christopher Ewing."

 

"Ewing?"  Heath asks. "Well, maybe now we're gettin' somewhere."

 

"You've heard of my family?" Christopher asks.

 

"Heard the name.  As a matter of fact, my old man mentioned the name Ewing just the other day.  Seems to have some old score to settle with y'all, too.  So what's this all about?  Just what exactly do you and my old man have against each other?"

 

Ray looks at the younger man.  "Thirty-eight years ago, your father and his brother-in-law, Luther, held my fam'ly at gunpoint in retaliation for somethin' that went down here in Waco between your father's sister......and my brother, J.R. Ewing."

 

"Luther......."  Heath says.  "Well, I guess that there explains a lot.  This J.R. Ewing.......was that your old man?"  He asks Christopher.

 

"No, J.R. was my uncle."

 

"Yeah, so that kinda fills in the rest of the story for me.  Old Luther Frick........that old SOB.  Spent 30 years in prison for murder.  He's been out a few years now.  Lives over in Hewitt."

 

"Murder?"  Ray asks.  

 

"Yep.  Luther killed his wife, Wanda.......my aunt, back in '78.  He was paroled in 2009.  Guess the parole board figured he was an old man, pretty harmless by then."

 

"Luther killed Wanda?"

 

"Sure did,"  Heath replies.  "That was 'fore I was born.  Apparently she had messed around on him, he came home, got to beatin' up on her, and she fell and hit her head.  From what Peyton told me, ol' Luther tried to flee, but the law caught up with him over in Gholson.  What you just told me........that explains why Peyton has hated the Ewings all these years.  Blames your fam'ly for ol' Luther goin' nuts and killin' his sister.  So what the hell are you doin' here?"

 

"Your father kidnapped my 8-year-old nephew,"  says Christopher.  

 

"Kidnapped?  You can't be serious."

 

"Dead serious,"  Ray says.  "I saw Peyton when he went to meet with Christopher's brother.  I recognized him, even after all these years."

 

"Damn.  DAMN IT!  I knew that ol' fool had done somethin' or was about to do somethin' stupid!"

 

"Look, Heath,"  Ray says.  "Now I can tell you didn't have anything to do with Peyton's crime.  But maybe you could help us."

 

"Help YOU?  Why the hell should I help YOU?"

 

"Because, Heath,"  Christopher says.  "You wanna be charged as an accessory to kidnapping a child?  That carries a very stiff penalty in this state, and my family has a lot of money and power.  We could make a lot more trouble for you than the law can, so I suggest you put that gun down......and help us find your crazy old man before someone gets hurt.  And if you ARE in on this with your father......"

 

"I aint,"  Heath says, putting the gun into his belt.  "Look, I may've done a lotta things in my life I aint proud of, but kidnappin' aint one of 'em.  Especially not a little child."

 

"Then help us,"  says Ray.  "Peyton has gotten himself into this pretty deep.  He's got the ransom money my nephew Lucas paid him for the return of his son.  Main thing we want's the boy back."

 

"Look, man, I don't give a damn if that no good father of mine goes to prison.  Hell, he's been there before.  But I don't wanna see him hurt."

 

"You help us and we promise........unless Peyton does somethin' stupid......he won't be hurt,"  Ray says.  "Just help us find him."

 

Heath looks at the two strangers and sighs, unsure of whether or not to trust them.

A cabin in the woods near Rainy River, Ontario...

Meanwhile, Afton and Pamela are sitting alone in the living room at the cabin.  After a while, a restless Pamela stands and walks to the window.  "Mom, I can't take this anymore," she says.  "How much longer are we going to be here."

 

"I don't know, baby,"  replies Afton, walking to the window.  She looks out.  "I wonder where he could be."

 

"Who knows?  I don't really care."

 

"Well, I DO, Pamela.  Scott is our only way out of here.  We're locked in this cabin in the middle of God knows where.  And somehow, we have to find a way out of here."

 

"But how?  We don't even know where we are,"  Pamela says.  

 

Afton grabs her daughter by the arm and turns her around to face her.  "Pamela, listen to me.  We WILL get out of here.  I will get you out of here and home to your husband and your baby.  I promise, sweetheart."

 

At that moment, the cabin door opens and Scott walks in.  He stops and looks at the women for a moment, then closes the door behind him.  "Well, I interrupt something?"  He asks.  "You ladies looked awfully intense."

 

"We were just.......talking,"  says Afton.

 

"Talking about what, Afton?"  Scott asks.

 

"About.......about how much we'd like to get out of here,"  says Afton.  "It looks like a beautiful day out there, and Pamela and I haven't been out of this cabin since we've been here.  So how about it, Scott?  Couldn't we go for a walk this afternoon?"

 

"No,"  Scott replies.  "I'm afraid I can't do that."

 

"Why not?"  Pamela asks.  "You said it yourself.  We don't have a clue where we are, and we're miles from the nearest neighbor.  Where do you think we could go?"

 

"You're right about that, Pamela,"  Scott says.  "But, you two liable to get lost out there in those woods, and I don't feel like going out there to try to find you."

 

"Scott, what if we promise to not try anything?"  Asks Afton.  "How far could we get anyway?  Besides, we can't stay cooped up in this cabin from now on.  We need fresh air and sun."

 

Scott looks at her for a second, then smiles.  "You're absolutely right, too, Afton.  Hell, what harm could it do?  I'll be right with you, anyway."  He reaches into his jacket pocket and pulls out a hand gun.  

 

Afton and Pamela exchanged frightened looks.  

 

"Y'know, girls, you're absolutely right.  It's a beautiful day out there, and we should go for a walk.  Get some fresh air and sun.  We're up here in this gorgeous cabin in the woods, FAR away from the oppressive heat of Texas.  So, come on, ladies.  Let's go for a nice walk."  Scott smiles a strange, twisted smile, then walks out of the cabin, placing his gun in his belt.

 

"Mom,"  Pamela whispers before they follow him out.  "Somehow, we have to get that gun away from him."

 

"I know,"  Afton whispers in reply.

 

"Well, ladies,"  Scott says, poking his head in the doorway.  "You wanted to go for a walk.  So let's go."

 

The women again exchange looks, then walk out of the cabin.  Scott closes the door, then follows them off the porch as they head for their walk.

Aboard a plane headed for Canada....

Meanwhile, Tripp, Cliff, Mitch, and Steven are on board a plane heading for Canada after Harrison Van Buren gave them the location and address of the cabin he used to take Scott when he was a little boy.  

 

"Steven, are you sure you're up for this?"  Mitch asks, sitting across from Steven.  "You look a little pale."

 

"I'm fine, Dr. Cooper, thank you.  I'm just anxious to get there and find Scott and the women."

 

"I just pray to God that maniac hasn't hurt my sister or my niece."

 

"If he has.......I swear, I'll kill him,"  Tripp says, staring blankly out the window.

 

"I thought your old man was coming with us, Detective,"  Cliff says.

 

"He had to head back to Dallas,"  Steven says.  "He's working on another case.  Look, Mr. Barnes, don't worry.  We'll find Scott and the women.  And when we do, I don't want any of you running off half cocked, taking the law into your own hands.  As soon as we arrive in Ontario, I'm contacting the local police there.  They, and I, will handle Scott Van Buren."

 

"Well I sure hope so the cops in Ontario handle him better than you and the cops in Dallas did,"  says Cliff.  "You had a killer right under your nose, working in the police department, investigating the murders that HE committed, and you couldn't catch the guy."

 

"We know where he is now,"  Steven says.  "And he has no idea that we know."

 

"Yeah, unless his old man contacted him and tipped him off,"  says a bitter Tripp.

 

"I don't believe he did.  Harrison Van Buren had no idea his son had even kidnapped your wife and Afton Cooper.  I doubt he would even know how to get in touch with Scott."

 

"Unless he was lying,"  Mitch says.  

 

"Mitch is right,"  says Cliff says.  "Harrison Van Buren is a born liar and con artist, and I wouldn't put it past him to have been working with his crazy kid this whole time."

 

Steven and Tripp exchange worried glances, then Tripp looks at Cliff and at Mitch, realizing that they could be right.  What if Afton's ex-husband had been privy to his son's crimes all along and had now  warned Scott that they were on their way to Ontario?

Waco, Texas....

Lucas, Heather, and Bobby wait anxiously in Lucas and Heather's hotel room in Waco to hear from Ray and Christopher, and for Lucas to get a text from Peyton.  Frustrated that they hadn't heard anything, Bobby takes his cell phone from his pocket.  He dials Christopher's number and waits several rings.  When Christopher's voice mail picks up, Bobby hangs up in frustration and sighs.  "Why the hell haven't Christopher and Ray called yet?"

 

"I'm sure they're okay,"  Lucas says.  "Probably just in an area where they aren't getting good service."  As Lucas finishes his sentence, his cell phone indicates that he has an incoming text message.  He picks up the phone and looks at it.  "It's :Peyton Allen," he says, opening the text.  "Bo's farmhouse.  That's where Michael is.  He even sent a picture."

 

"Let's go, then,"  Heather says.  

 

"Come on,"  Bobby says, and the three quickly hurry from the hotel room.

The McCabe farm....a short time later

Half an hour later, Bobby's car pulls into the driveway of Bo's farmhouse and comes to a stop.  Lucas and Heather quickly jump out of the car and run to the house, followed by Bobby.  They find a note pinned on the front door.  Lucas takes the note and reads it.  "The key is under the mat,"  Lucas reads.  He picks up the 'welcome' mat in front of the door and finds the key to the house.  

 

"Let me have it,"  Bobby says.  He takes the key and unlocks the front door.  Opening it, the three rush into the house.

 

"Michael?"  Heather calls out.  "Michael, baby it's Mommy."

 

"Michael, where are you?"  Lucas calls.

 

 

 

"Shhhhh.......listen,"  Bobby says, hearing a sound from another room.  "I heard somethin'."

 

"So did I,"  says Lucas.  Followed by Heather and Bobby, Lucas walks through the small dining room and into the kitchen, where they hear sounds coming from behind another door.  Lucas rushes over and opens the door to a pantry, where he finds Michael tied up.  "Michael," Lucas says, grabbing the boy.  He takes the gag from Michael's mouth.

 

"Michael, baby, thank God!"  Heather says, hugging her son tightly.  After a few seconds, Heather pulls back and looks at her son.  "Baby I was so worried about you."

 

"Michael, are you okay?"  Lucas asks.  "Are you hurt?"

 

"I'm okay,"  the child replies.  "I was just so scared."

 

"Baby, it's alright,"  Heather says, hugging her son again.  

 

"Michael, you're safe now, and I'm never gonna let anybody hurt you again,"  Lucas says.  "Not EVER, I promise."

 

"Come on, let's get outta here," says Bobby.  "I think we should have Michael looked at by a doctor."

 

"I think you're right,"  Heather agrees.  "Michael, baby, where is Bo?"

 

"With the other man.  They still had Bo."

 

"Other man?  You mean the older man who brought you here?"  Bobby asks.

 

"No, this man was younger.  Probably Lucas's age."

 

Lucas and Heather exchange looks.  "The bartender,"  Lucas says.  "It's gotta be."

 

"Well let's get outta here,"  Bobby says.  "I need to try and get ahold of Christopher and Ray again."

 

"Come on, baby,"  Heather says, picking her son up.  "Let's get you to the doctor and then home, where you belong." Heather carries Michael out of the room as Lucas lingers behind, looking around the kitchen.

 

"Son?  You alright?"  Bobby asks.

 

"I'm better now that we got my son back,"  replies Lucas.  "But I'll tell you somethin'.  When I get my hands on Bo McCabe.......I'm gonna beat the livin' hell outta him.  And when I find Peyton Allen, God forgive me for what I'm gonna do to him."

 

"Come on, son, let's go,"  Bobby says, putting his hand on Lucas's back.  Together, Bobby and Lucas leave and join Heather and Michael outside.

Peyton Allen's home....

Peyton brings his old truck to a stop in his driveway.  A big smile on his face, he picks up the briefcase on the seat beside him containing the ransom money and looks at it.  Then he picks up his cell phone and dials a number.  On the second ring, someone answers.  "Jake, all done.  How's McCabe?  Good.  Okay then, turn him loose.  No, no, don't you worry none.  McCabe's in this just as deep as we are.  No way he's goin' to the cops or else he'll be charged with kidnappin', too. Make sure ol' Bo understands the best thing for him to do is just disappear.  Or else I'll make sure he takes the rap for this whole thing."  Peyton ends the call, then takes the brief case and gets out of the truck.  He then takes the cell phone and smashes it on his concrete driveway, an act he laughs about.  Before going into the house, Peyton takes a large rock and hits the smashed cell phone with it, causing the device to shatter into many pieces.  "Now, just try and trace that phone," he says with a devious smile.  After a momentary pause, he walks onto the front porch of his house and then goes in.  He finds his son Heath sitting alone in the living room.  "Well, afternoon, son,"  Peyton says, taking off his jacket.  "Thought you'd be at work today."

 

"I called in,"  Heath says.  "Where the hell have you been?"

 

"Been out takin' care of some business, boy,"  Peyton replies, putting the briefcase down.

 

"And just what kinda business was that, Pop?"

 

Peyton looks at Heath and smiles.  "The kind that's gonna put us on easy street for a while."

 

"Easy street?  Or maybe........in prison?"

 

"Nope.  No sir, boy.  I mean EASY street.  Ya know what's in this here briefcase?  Money.  LOTS of money.  One hundred thousand dollars.  Just a small portion of what I deserve for everythin' I've lost."

 

Heath stands to his feet and walks over to his father.  "You crazy old coot.  Just what did you do to get that money?  Maybe......kidnappin'?"

 

The smile disappears from Peyton's face as Ray and Christopher walk in from the next room, taking Peyton completely by surprise.  

 

"What the hell's goin' on here?"  Peyton asks.

 

"Hello, Peyton,"  Ray says.  "You remember me?  Ray Krebbs.  Been a LONG time."

 

Peyton looks at Ray angrily.  "Yeah.....I remember you.  What the hell are you doin' in my house?"

 

"We're here on the matter of a little kidnapping,"  says Christopher.  "The kidnapping of my nephew, Michael McCabe."

 

"And just who the blazes are you?"

 

"I'm Christopher Ewing."

 

"Ewing.  You have any idea how much I hate that name?"

 

Ray walks over to Peyton.  "Well, you're gonna have a lot more to hate, where you're goin'."

 

Peyton looks at his son.  "You have somethin' to do with this?"

 

"No,"  Heath replies.  "They showed up here and told me what you done.  I warned you, old man.  How in the HELL could you do somethin' so damned stupid as to kidnap a kid?"

 

Peyton looks at Heath, then at Ray and Christopher.  Suddenly, Peyton shoves Ray, who stumbles backward and bumps into Christopher, who catches him.  Peyton then breaks and runs for the door.  Ray quickly recovers and goes after Peyton, catching him just as Peyton is about to run out of the house.  Ray grabs him, pulls him back into the house, and punches him, knocking Peyton to the floor.  

 

Heath starts toward Ray, but Christopher places his hand on Heath's chest.  "Nope, I wouldn't do that if I were you,"  Christopher says.  

 

Ray grabs Peyton by the shirt and pulls him up from the floor, forcing him against the wall.  "You son of a bitch, I oughta tear you apart.  Christopher, call the police."  

 

Christopher takes his phone from his pocket and does as Ray said.

 

"Why, Peyton?"  Ray asks, looking his old enemy directly in the face.  "Why NOW, after all these years?"

 

"My sister,"  Peyton says, slightly out of breath from the scuffle.  "My sister Wanda.  She's dead and it's all because of the Ewings!"

 

"Your boy told us about Wanda,"  Ray says.  "He said Luther killed her."

 

"Yeah, and it's all because of J.R. Ewing."

 

"And Wanda had no part in what happened herself, huh?"  Ray asks, still holding Peyton against the wall.  "If memory serves me, Wanda and Mary Lou were both very willing participants that night 38 years ago.  Nobody was raped, nobody was forced.  It was ALL consensual.  And from what I understood, them ladies, especially Wanda, would screw just about anybody."

 

"You shut the hell up talkin' about my sister like that,"  says an angry Peyton.  "Wanda made mistakes, just like all of us.  But she was a good woman.  A good sister, and she's DEAD!"

 

"Yeah, dead because of Luther Frick, NOT because of J.R. or any other Ewing.  You wanted revenge, why the hell didn't you take it out on Frick?"

 

"Luther payed.  Oh, he did pay.  Spent 30 years in prison for killin' Wanda.  But the Ewings...... that son of a bitch J.R. Ewing never paid.  And neither did you."

 

"What does Ray have to do with this?"  Christopher asks.  "If J.R. was the one who slept with your sister, why blame Ray?"

 

"Because he took Mary Lou,"  Peyton says, looking over Ray's shoulder at Heath.  "That's right, boy.  This ol' cowboy right here defiled your mama.  Of course, Mary Lou always was a little on the whorish side anyhow."

 

"You shut the hell up talkin' about my Mama like that,"  says Heath.

 

Peyton laughs.  "Your Mama.  Haha, your Mama was a bitch and a whore."

 

"Just shut up,"  Ray says, tightening his grip on Peyton.  

 

"The cops are on their way,"  Christopher says, putting his phone back into his pocket

 

Peyton looks at Ray and laughs again.  

 

"You may be laughing now, but let's see how much you're laughing when you spend the rest of your miserable life in prison,"  Christopher says.  

 

Peyton again laughs.  "I been to prison, boy.  Don't scare me none.

 

Christopher's cell phone rings.  He takes it from his pocket again and answers.  "Dad," he says.  

Providence Hospital, Waco....

"Christopher, where are you?"  Bobby asks, pacing around a hallway at Waco's Providence Hospital as he talks on his cell phone.  "I've been trying to reach for two hours."

Peyton's house....

 

 

 

"Dad, everything's okay,"  Christopher says.  "We got Peyton Allen.  Uncle Ray and I are here at Allen's house, and the police are on their way.  Have you found Michael, and is he okay?"

Providence Hospital....

"Yes, we found Michael.  He was at Bo's farmhouse, tied up in a pantry,"  Bobby says.  "He's fine, but we thought it'd be a good idea to bring him to the hospital and have a doctor check him out.  What about Allen?  Has he said anything?"

 

 

Peyton's house....

"Yeah, he did,"  Christopher replies.  "It's a long story, Dad, and I'll explain it all to you later. Listen, I just heard a car pull up outside, it may be the police.  I gotta go.  As soon as everything's taken care of here, we'll meet you back at the hotel.  Bye."  Christopher puts his phone back into his pocket.  

 

Ray finally releases Peyton from his grip as a knock comes at the door.  "Now you're gonna get exactly what's comin' to you,"  Ray tells him.

 

Peyton smiles deviously.  "Think you're real smart, huh, cowboy?  Well, we'll just see who has the last laugh," he says.

 

Heath opens the door and finds three police officers at the door.  He lets them in.  

 

"Someone called us about a crime?"  One of the officers asks.

 

"Yes, sir, we did,"  replies Christopher.  "A kidnapping."

 

"And here's the perpetrator right here,"  Ray says, looking at Peyton.  

 

"Maybe somebody had better start from the beginning,"  says a second officer.  "Just what's going on here?  We haven't received a report of a kidnapping in the last 72 hours."

 

"Officer, my name is Christopher Ewing.  Maybe you remember from a recent Amber Alert,"  Christopher says.  "Michael McCabe, age 8, he's been missing from Dallas for the last several days."

 

"Yeah,"  one of the officers says.  "I do remember."

 

"This is my father, Peyton Allen,"  Heath says.  "He isn't the one who kidnapped the kid, but....... he was an accomplice."

 

Two officers walk over to Peyton.  "Do you have anything to say for yourself?"

 

"Go to hell,"  Peyton says bitterly.  "You can ALL go straight to hell because I got NOTHIN' to say."

 

"Sir, you're going to have to come with us down to the station,"  one of the officers says.

 

As Heath watches sadly, Peyton is handcuffed and read his rights, then taken from the house by the police.  After Peyton is taken out, Ray and Christopher both look at Heath, who appears visibly shaken by the experience.

 

"Heath, I'm sorry,"  says Christopher.  "Sorry it went down like this."

 

"Are you gonna be okay?"  Ray asks.

 

"Yeah, why wouldn't I be?  Aint the first time I seen my old man carted off in handcuffs."

 

"Look, Heath......,"  Ray says.

 

"Just go.  Just get the hell out."

 

Ray and Christopher exchange looks, then leave the house.  

Rainy River, Ontario....evening

Cliff, Mitch, Tripp, and Steven step off the private plane they had used in the little town of Rainy River, Ontario.

"Okay, first thing we need to do is contact the local authorities here,"  Steven says.

 

"I think that's a bad idea,"  Tripp says.

 

"And just why is that?"

 

"You get the cops up there, and Van Buren gets spooked, there's no telling what he's liable to do to my wife and Afton,"  Tripp says. "I'm NOT gonna take that chance."

 

"Look, McKay, we handle this MY way,"  says Steven.  "The police know how to deal with a hostage situation."

 

"That's MY wife up there, Detective,"  Tripp says angrily.  "So I say we handle it MY way."

 

"McKay....."

 

"Look, I am NOT gonna have my wife hurt if Van Buren gets spooked."

 

"I think Tripp is right,"  Cliff says.  "We already know this Van Buren guy is a murderer and a complete psychopath.  We have to handle this delicately."

 

"And what do you suggest, Cliff?"  Mitch asks.  "If we don't involve the local police, then how do we go about getting Afton and Pamela back?"

 

"Detective?  Any ideas?"  Cliff asks.  "Ideas that don't involve any other cops?"

 

"Look, I am a cop,"  Steven says.  "I'm a detective with the Dallas Police Department, which means I have no jurisdiction here in Ontario.  I cannot just conduct this operation on my own without the involvement of the local authorities.  I could lose my badge."

 

"You're officially on a leave of absence after getting shot, Detective," says Cliff.  "You're on your own time now."

 

"But that doesn't mean I have the authority to take the law into my own hands."

 

"Enough of this standing around arguing,"  Tripp says.  "Detective, I'm going up to that cabin to try and get my wife away from that maniac.  Now you can help me if you want, but I'll be damned if you're gonna stop me, and don't even THINK about getting in my way."

 

Cliff looks at Steven and at Mitch.  "So how about it?  Jones, you know this guy.  You were his partner for two years on the police force.  You probably know him as well as anyone possibly could. I think that if anybody could talk him down or get through to him, it's you.  And you have experience in handling hostage situations."

 

"Alright,"  Steven says.  "Maybe I am the one who can get through to Scott and get him to release the women.  But anything goes wrong.......if anyone gets hurt in this, McKay, Barnes.......it's on YOU guys."

 

"Let's do this,"  Cliff says.  "Let's go get Afton and my daughter away from that psycho."

 

Mitch, Tripp, and Steven exchange looks and nod.  "Let's go,"  says Tripp, bound and determined to rescue his wife from the clutches of Scott Van Buren.

Providence Hospital, Waco....

Ray and Christopher walk through a set of double doors leading to a hallway at Providence Hospital as darkness settles over Waco after what had been a very long day for the Ewings.  Christopher spots Bobby at the end of the hall and they head down to meet him.

 

"Dad,"  Christopher says.

 

"Christopher, Ray, are you two alright?"  Bobby asks.

 

"Yeah, we're fine,"  Christopher replies.  "What about Michael?"

 

"He seems to be okay, just a little dehydrated. but the doctor wanted to run some tests and give him a bag of fluid just to be on the safe side.  Lucas and Heather are with him."

 

"That's good,"  says Christopher.

 

"Looks like it was productive day,"  Ray says. "Lucas and Heather got Michael back, and Peyton Allen is behind bars, where he belongs."

 

"What about Bo McCabe and Peyton Allen's other accomplice?"  Bobby asks.

 

"By the time the cops had gotten to the address on record for Jake McCallister, the bartender believed to be the one who helped Allen, both he and McCabe were gone,"  Ray says.  "McCallister had cleared out most of his stuff, too."

 

"Damn,"  says an angry Bobby.

 

"At least we got Peyton,"  Ray says.

 

"Yes, but with McCabe on the loose, Heather and Lucas are always gonna be lookin' over their shoulder, worried that he's gonna come back and take Michael again,"  Bobby says.  

 

"That's not gonna happen,"  comes Lucas's voice from behind them as he and Heather are standing in a doorway with Michael.

 

Bobby turns to them.  "Son, is everything alright?"

 

"Everything's fine,"  Lucas says.

 

"Hey, Michael,"  Christopher says with a smile.  "How ya feelin'?"

 

"I'm okay.  I just wanna go home," the child replies.

 

"I think we ALL wanna go home."

 

"You're right,"  Lucas says.  "Michael is exhausted, and so are we, so I think it's best if we just stay at the hotel tonight and get a good night's sleep, and then head home in the morning."

 

"I think you're right,"  agrees Bobby.  "It's been a long day for all of us."

 

"And the cops said they may wanna talk to us again in the morning anyway,"  says Ray.  

 

"Heather, you take Michael on out to the car, okay?"  Lucas asks.  "We'll be right there."

 

"Sure.  Come on, sweety."  Heather takes her son by the hand.

 

"I'll walk out with you,"  Ray says, accompanying Heather and Michael down the hall.

 

Lucas looks at his father and brother.  "Bobby, when you said that with Bo on the loose, Heather and I are gonna be looking over our shoulders, worried that he's gonna come back?  Well, that's not gonna happen.  Bo McCabe will NEVER get the chance to come near my son ever again.  I'm gonna find him, and I'm gonna see him either dead or behind bars if it's the LAST thing I ever.  This whole thing was Bo's fault.  If it hadn't been for him that crazy Peyton Allen never would've been able to get his hands on Michael.  And for that, Bo McCabe is a dead man if I find him before the cops do."  Without another word, Lucas walks past Bobby and Christopher and heads down the hall toward the hospital exit.  Bobby and Christopher exchange worried looks, then Bobby watches his younger son as he goes, concerned about Lucas's threat against Bo, and also concerned that Lucas's anger issues are coming back after this experience with Michael's kidnapping.  

 

A couple of minutes later, Lucas emerges from the side entrance of the hospital, Bobby and Christopher following closely behind.  Heather, Michael, and Ray are waiting beside Bobby's car in the parking lot.  

 

"Ready to go?"  Heather asks.  "I'm seriously about to pass out, I'm so exhausted."

 

"All set,"  replies Bobby.

 

At that moment, Lucas's cell phone rings.  He takes the phone from his pocket and looks at it, then answers.  "Hello?  Yes, this is Lucas Ewing."

Waco Police Department....

"Well.....evenin', there, Lucas,"  Peyton says, talking from a phone at the police department.  "This here's your ol' pal, Peyton Allen."

Providence Hospital....

"Allen......what the hell do you want?"  Lucas angrily asks.

Waco Police Department....

"Every prisoner is entitled to one phone call, and I decided you was gone be my lucky person to call,"  Peyton says.  "I woulda called him myself if I'd had his number, but, since I don't, I want you to give a message to Ray Krebbs for me."

Providence Hospital....

"You go to hell, Allen,"  Lucas says.  

 

"Lucas, is that who I think it is?"  Bobby asks.

 

"Yeah, it's Peyton Allen.  Says he has a message for Ray."

 

"Message for me?"  Ray asks.  "Gimme the phone."  Ray takes the phone from Lucas's hand.  "Allen, what do you want?"

Waco Police Department....

"What do I want?"  Peyton asks.  "I wanna see you.  Now.  Got somethin' I need to say, but not over the phone."

Providence Hospital....

"You heard what Lucas said.  You can go straight to hell."

Waco Police Department....

"Come on now, Ray,"  Peyton says.  "What harm can it do?  I'm behind bars now.  Hell you'll prob'ly never see me again, anyway.  But you and me......we need to talk.  We got some unfinished business, you and me.  It's about what happened all them years ago.  Just come see me, now.  You're gonna wanna hear this."  Before Ray can say anymore, Peyton hangs up the phone and smiles deviously.

Providence Hospital....

"Ray, what was that all about?"  Bobby asks.

 

"Peyton, he wants to see me.  Tonight."

 

"You can't be serious."

 

"You're not actually going to see that lunatic, are you?"  Lucas asks.

 

"He said it was important.  Somethin' I'd wanna hear.  Maybe it has somethin' to do with where Bo McCabe and that Jake guy are."

 

"Then why didn't he tell Lucas?"  Heather asks.

 

"I don't know.  But I do think I need to go and find out what that S.O.B. wants,"  Ray says.

Scott's cabin near Rainy River, Ontario....

Meanwhile, at Scott's cabin in Ontario, Scott is building a fire in the fireplace of the living room, while Afton and Pamela sit quietly.

 

"There now, isn't this nice and cozy?"  Scott asks.  "Even in summer, the nights get pretty cold up here in Ontario.  Just wait til winter.  We might be snowed in the whole season."

 

Afton and Pamela exchange looks of disgust at the thought of being stuck with Scott until winter.

 

"Wouldn't that be cozy?"  Scott asks, looking at them.  "To be snowed in up here in this beautiful place.  Winter truly is magical up here.  And I'll go out and cut us down a really nice tree for Christmas.  Hey, what am I saying, talking about Christmas now, with it so far away?  We have lots of time to plan for the holidays."  He stands and walks across the room, placing his hand gun on the table.

 

"Scott, aren't you bored?"  Pamela asks.

 

"What do you mean.....bored, Pammy?"

 

 

 

 

"I mean, with no television, no radio, nothing,"  replies Pamela, looking at the gun on the table.  "All we ever do is sit here and look at each other."

 

Scott looks at her and smiles.  "And that's all we need, the three of us, is each other.  We don't need to know or worry about what's going on in the outside world.  Because we're not a part of that anymore.  THIS is our world now, girls.  From now on.  Oh, and Pammy.......I see you eyeing my gun there.  But don't even think about trying to get it, because it's not gonna happen.  Now, then, you said it was boring here. Well, that's why we have our own, ready made entertainment.  Afton, how about singing us a song?"

 

 

 

"I'm really not in the mood,"  Afton says.

 

"I didn't ask you if you were in the mood,"  Scott says.  "I asked you to sing us a song."

 

"Look, Scott, it's been a long day and I'm really tired.  That walk took a lot out of me today."

"You're right, Afton,"  Scott says, a strange look on his face.  "I'm kinda tired myself.  So, we should all go to be and get some sleep.  Tomorrow......I'll expect some entertainment. So, come on, ladies.  Let's hit the hay. We have a big day ahead of us tomorrow.  Afton, I'm gonna want you to do an entire live show for us."  Scott smiles.  "Won't that be fun?  Yeah, so much fun.  Now, off to bed."  He walks over to the front door and checks the lock, making sure it's bolted.  He then takes the key from his pocket and shows it to Afton and Pamela.  He smiles, then turns and leaves the room.  "Bed, girls," he says from the other room.  "And don't forget to turn off the lights."

 

Afton and Pamela look at each other, then Afton stands from her seat.  She walks over and switches off the light in the living room and looks at her daughter again.  "Come on, sweetheart, let's get some rest."

 

Next to tears, Pamela stands and follows her mother from the room, again wondering if she would ever again see her husband and baby boy again.

 

 

Meanwhile, sitting in a car on a trail just up a hill from the cabin, are Tripp, Cliff, Mitch, and Steven in a rented car.  "There it is,"  Steven says, looking through a pair of binoculars.  "There's the cabin, right where Scott's old man said it was."

"So, Detective, what do we do?"  Tripp asks.

 

"We wait until morning,"  replies Steven.

 

"Morning?"  Cliff asks.

 

"That's right.  We have a much better chance of this going down the RIGHT way if we wait until daylight."

 

Tripp sighs as he looks down the hill at the cabin and sees the lights in the cabin go out.  "My wife is in there," he says quietly, more to himself than to the other men.  "Just hold on, Pamela.  I'm gonna get you outta there.  I promise."

Police Department, Waco, Texas....

Back in Waco, Ray is sitting at a table in a visitor's room waiting impatiently when the door opens and Peyton Allen is brought in.  Peyton smiles when he sees Ray, then takes a seat across the table from him.

 

"Glad ya came,"  Peyton says.

 

 

 

 

 

"Alright, Allen, I'm here.  Now just say whatever the hell it is you have to say."

 

"Well, impatient man, aren't ya, Ray?"

 

"Only when it comes to scum like you."

Peyton laughs.  "Scum like me?  As I recall, you were no better'n me way back in the old days. You and Mary Lou........two peas in a pod."

 

"That what you called me here for?"  Ray asks. "To talk about Mary Lou?"

 

"In a sense,"  Peyton replies.  "Y'know, Mary Lou, she was quite a girl.  Real good in the sack, as I'm sure you'll remember.  You, uh.... Ya met my boy today.......Heath."

 

"Yeah.  So?  Just get to the point."

 

"Yeah, Heath, he's a good boy.  But he never liked me and I never much cared for him, especially after he got older.  That boy had a mouth on him, and still does.  Did you notice how Heath duttin' look anything like me?  Not one bit.  Didn't ya wonder why he duttin' look like me, Ray?"

 

"This whole conversation is ridiculous, and since it's obvious you don't have a point to all this, I'm leavin',"  Ray says, standing.  "Have a nice life spendin' the rest of it in prison, Allen."

 

"Oh, but I do have a point, Ray,"  Peyton says, looking up at him.  "The reason Heath looks nothin' like me is because I aint his daddy.  You are, Ray.  You fathered Mary Lou's bastard son back in '78."

 

Ray's mouth drops open in shock as he looks at Peyton, completely caught off guard by the revelation....

END OF EPISODE 119...

 

                                                      ALSO STARRING

 

AUDREY LANDERS

                   as Afton Cooper

 

LEIGH McCLOSKEY

                   as Dr. Mitch Cooper

 

JESSE LEE SOFFER

                   as Det. Steven Jones

 

JARED PADALECKI

                   as Scott Van Buren

 

COOPER HUCKABEE

                   as Peyton Allen

 

JAMES FRANCO

                   as Heath Allen

 

ANNALYNNE McCORD

                   as Heather McCabe

 

KEYGHAN BURNS

                   as Michael McCabe

Write a comment

Comments: 10
  • #1

    sadielynn (Tuesday, 01 November 2016 20:55)

    Omg wowza

  • #2

    kathy johnson (Tuesday, 01 November 2016 21:20)

    I knew when Peyton wanted to see Ray that he was the father. Story gets better and better.

  • #3

    Janie Fleischer (Tuesday, 01 November 2016 21:28)

    OMGosh tell me the ending isn't true. It just can't be and if it is why did Allen wait all these years and not tell Ray. I can't handle this. Awesome episode John from beginning to end. You kept me in suspense all through the whole episode. This was one of your best recent episodes. Gonna keep me awake till the next episode. Thank you so much John I loved this.

  • #4

    Teri Bauguess (Tuesday, 01 November 2016 21:41)

    I guess it!! I just knew that was what Peyton was going to tell Ray!! Can't wait to see where this goes. Now PLEASE get Pamela & Afton out if there!!

    Good storyline John, excited for next week!!

  • #5

    Susan M. (Wednesday, 02 November 2016 07:50)

    I knew it!!!! Great Job John. Ray has his own son now, nice job. The web deepens. haha
    Can't wait for the Pamela and Afton fiasco to come to an ending. Keep up the great work.

  • #6

    Ada Vincent (Wednesday, 02 November 2016 12:26)

    Great job as usual keep up the good work

  • #7

    Julia Cherri (Friday, 04 November 2016 00:00)

    Oh my goodness, so full of suspense and excitement. This was a great episode all the way from beginning to end. Wonder what happened to the bartender and Bo. I got a feeling that Bo has been hurt or is locked up some place. Sure hope Lucas does not do something stupid. Hope that Pamela and Afton will be captured safely, with nobody getting hurt, with the exception of Scott maybe. Wonder if Ray will accept Heath as his son, and if he does will he be a part of his life, and what effect will it have on his marriage. Wonder what is happening with John Ross and his wife. So many unanswered questions. You keep us guessing from one episode to another, wanting more and more all the time. That is a sure sign of a very talented writer of which you are John. You are the best and I thank you so much of allowing me the opportunity to enjoy your writing. Your hard work is so much appreciated.

  • #8

    Marie Kinsey (Tuesday, 22 November 2016 09:50)

    OMG...Ray has a son by Mary Lou...who would of ever thought??? You my friend are amazing. Must get back to Christmas decorating. Catching up slowly but surely...lol

  • #9

    Kimberly (Sunday, 21 May 2017 20:03)

    Awesome john! I had a feeling Peyton was going to tell Ray was his son. He tried to tell him at the Allen house when he said something to affect of for Ray to look over Peyton's shoulder. I don't know what Bobby's going to say this lol I bet his says Ray now were in another drama mess but look you got your son you always wanted. You had your nephew and the boy died trying to save Sue Ellen. Now you have Connor and Dylan that are pretty much like your own now are you going to try to get to Health after you explain this one to Donna. I am a glad Michael's safe and sound with heather, Lucas, Christopher, bobby and ray. I just cant wait to see how cliff, Mitch, Tripp and Steven rescue Pamela and Afton and Scotty in Jail! So exited for Episode 120 next!

  • #10

    Tina (Sunday, 10 September 2023 22:59)

    Wow! Another great episode, John.