EPISODE 127 - Out With The Old, In With The New

Previously on DALLAS:

-----------------Pamela continued to keep the secret of her pregnancy from Tripp, and refused Afton's suggestion that she have an abortion.

-----------------Tripp followed through on his grandfather's last wish and, with the support of two board members, deposed Jill as CEO of Westar and took over the company for himself.

----------------John Ross and Sue Ellen asked Krystina to come to Southfork for Christmas, but she initially refused both offers.

----------------John Ross learned that Tripp McKay was now CEO of Westar, and Ewing Oil's partner in the California wells he bought from ColbyCo.  Bobby and Christopher were furious when he informed them.

----------------The large, extended Ewing family gathered for Christmas at Southfork, including Gary and Val and their family, and Catlin's family.

----------------Bum was happy when his son Steven decided to spend Christmas with him

----------------Unhappy about his mother's budding friendship with Mitch Cooper, Shawn told Mitch's son Daniel that he intends to stop the relationship before it ever gets started.

----------------John Ross was happy when Krystina changed her mind and came to Southfork for Christmas.

Southfork....Christmas Eve

Bobby and Ann see Catlin's sister Blaine and her family to the door after the Ewing family's Christmas Eve gathering.

 

"Bobby, Ann, I think this was the nicest Christmas ever,"  Blaine says.  "Thank you so much for having us."

 

"Blaine, it was our pleasure,"  says Ann.

 

"How long are you all gonna be in town?"  Bobby asks.

 

"At least through the new year," Sandy replies.  

 

"Yes, I've taken a two week vacation from my job and I convinced my husband to do the same,"  Blaine says.  "I thought that during the holidays it would be great to spend some time with my brother and my nephew, and get to know Sue Ellen better, as well as my other Dallas relatives."

 

"And how about you, Alex?"  Bobby asks.  

 

"I will probably have to get back to San Francisco

 

"Well, we definitely look forward to seein' you again while you're in town,"  Bobby says. 

 

"Maybe we could get together for dinner one evening,"  Blaine suggests.

 

"We would love that,"  says Ann.

 

Catlin, Sue Ellen, come into the foyer, Catlin helping his Aunt Corrine to the front door.  "Bobby, tonight was absolutely beautiful,"  Catlin says.

 

"Thank you, Catlin, and I do agree.  And Corrine, I can't tell you how happy we are that you were able to make it tonight."

 

"Bobby, Ann, I can't remember when I've had a lovelier evening,"  Corrine says.

 

"Well, we would love for you to come back and visit us again,"  Ann says.

 

"I'll certainly take you up on that."

 

"And I would really love to hear some of the stories you must have about the Ewings, and about our heritage,"  Bobby says. "Daddy never talked about his family or his past."

 

"Aunt Corrine has a LOT of stories to tell,"  Catlin says.

 

"And I'll be happy to share them,"  Corrine says as John Ross, Krystina, and Alex walk into the foyer, Krystina holding Little John.  The elderly woman looks at the baby and smiles. "It's so nice to see this newest generation.  Sue Ellen, you have a very handsome son."

 

Sue Ellen smiles.  "Thank you, Corrine, I think so, too."

 

"And John Ross, you have a lovely family."

 

"Thank ya, ma'am."

 

"We'd better be going,"  says Catlin.

 

"Oh, I almost forgot Selena,"  Corrine says.

 

"Last I saw of her, Aunt Corrine, she was hanging out with a very handsome young man," Blaine says.

 

"Yes, that would be Conner,"  says Bobby.  "Which is Uncle Jason's grandson."

 

"I'll get her, Aunt Corrine,"  Catlin says.  He leaves the foyer.

 

"In the meantime, why don't we go on out to the car?"  Sandy Cory says.  "Bobby, Ann, thanks again."

 

"You're welcome,"  Bobby says.

 

As Blaine, Sandy, their son Alex leave, Sue Ellen walks over to her son and daughter-in-law.  "Krystina, I'm so happy that you changed your mind and decided to come tonight."

 

"I'm happy I did, too, Sue Ellen."

 

"So, does this mean that you two are gonna try to work things out and get back together now?"  Alex asks.

 

John Ross and Krystina exchange looks.  "Well, I sure am hopeful about that,"  John Ross says.

 

"I think I'm gonna go put Little John to bed," says Krystina says, an uncomfortable look on her face. She turns and heads up the stairs with the baby.

 

"I found 'em,"  Catlin says as he returns to the foyer, followed by Conner and Selena.  

 

"Well, Selena, are you ready to go?"  Corrine asks the girl.

 

"Umm, actually, Grandma, would it be okay if I stayed for a while?"  Selena asks.

 

"I'll be happy to drive Selena back later," says Conner.

 

"Well, it's fine with me," Corrine says.  "But, not too late, alright?"

 

"Oh, no ma'am," Conner says.

 

"Thanks, Grandma,"  Selena says, kissing her great-great-grandmother on the cheek.

 

"Remember, not too late,"  Corrine says as she leaves with Catlin and Sue Ellen.

Cliff and Afton's apartment....

 

 

Afton walks into her bedroom, where she finds Pamela with baby Hunter.

 

"Well, everyone is getting ready to leave," Afton says.

 

"I guess Tripp will be ready to leave soon, too. I was just getting the baby ready.  But I hate to wake him."

 

"Darling, I hate that you're feeling so bad on Christmas," Afton says.  "And I know that Sharon's remark about you gaining weight didn't help."

 

"No, it didn't,"  says Pamela.  

 

"That's why you have to tell Tripp about the pregnancy."

 

"Mom, please don't start that again."

 

Meanwhile, downstairs, Mitch, Daniel, Sharon, and Shawn are all getting ready to leave.  As Cliff walks Sharon to the door, their sons are eating another piece of pie.  "Sharon, you and Shawn have a very Merry Christmas,"  Mitch says.  

 

Sharon smiles.  "Thank you, Mitch, and it was wonderful to see you here tonight.  What are your plans for tomorrow?"

 

"I suppose we'll have dinner over here again.  Afton invited us."

 

"Nice to have family, isn't it?"  Sharon asks.  "Shawn, honey, come on, we'd better be going."

 

"Yeah," the boy says.  "Oh, wait, I left my jacket upstairs."

 

"Well go and get it, and hurry."

 

Shawn runs up the stairs, and as he is heading down the hall to the guest bedroom where he left his jacket, he passes by the slightly open door of Afton's bedroom, where Afton and Pamela are still talking.  Curious, the teenager stops and listens.

 

"Pamela, soon, your pregnancy is going to be VERY noticeable, to everyone, especially to your husband."

 

"Mom, I know,"  Pamela says.  "I know I have to tell him, but, after Christmas.  I just wanna get through this holiday without any dram before I tell my husband that I'm carrying another man's baby."

 

 

 

 

 

 

Listening outside the door, Shawn can hardly believe what he just heard.  His brother's wife is pregnant with another man's child?  The wheels begin to turn in the boy's head as he tries to think of how this piece of information could be used to his advantage.

Southfork....the nursery upstairs....

John Ross and Krystina are standing over Little John's crib after Krystina has put the baby down to bed.

"Poor baby,"  Krystina says in a whisper.  "He was exhausted.  "He was asleep as soon as I put him down."

 

"Just look at him, Krystina," John Ross says. "Itn't he beautiful?"

 

"He sure is."

 

"Every time I look at him, I can't help but smile.  I also can't help but to wish....... that you were his mother, instead of Elena."

 

 

 

"I can't tell you how many times I've wished that same thing,"  Krystina says.

 

"Remember all the babies you and I planned to have?"  John Ross asks.

 

"Of course.  How could I forget?"

 

 

 

"What the hell happened to us, Krystina?"  John Ross asks, his voice shaky.

 

Krystina looks at him.  "Brad Stone happened. And then, Brittany Ewing happened," she replies as she begins to cry.

 

"Darlin' lemme ask you somethin'.  When you slept with Stone.....did that mean anything to you?  Were you in love with him, or really attracted to him?"

 

"No.  I did it because I was so hurt.  I was vulnerable and I let Brad manipulate me."

 

"And when I went to bed with Brittany Ewing, it didn't mean a damn thing,"  John Ross says. "Krystina, I was hurt, too.  For months, I been hurt, thinkin' about you and that.......son of a bitch.  His hands all over my wife's body.  That's why it's been so hard for me to let it go. Krystina, I love you.  With all my heart, I love you, even after all that's happened between these past few months."  John Ross moves closer to her.  "And I truly believe that you still love me.  If you didn't, you wouldn't have come here tonight."

 

"I came here for the boys, and for your mother," Krystina says in tears.

 

"And for me, too,"  John Ross says.  "No matter what you say, Krystina, I know you still love me.  You and me, we........darlin', we're meant to be together.  Come home, Krystina.  Come home to Southfork, and to me, where you belong."

 

"John Ross, I have to go...."  Krystina says.  As she starts to walk past him and leave the room, John Ross grabs her and pulls her into a passionate kiss.  After a moment, Krystina pulls out of the kiss and slaps John Ross's face.  "Damn you," she says in tears, then begins kissing him again....

A short time later....

John Ross and Krystina are in their bed, passionately making love....

Southfork....two days later

As Heather finishes getting dressed in the bedroom she and Lucas share two mornings later, Lucas comes out of the bathroom after a shower, a towel around his waist.  He walks up behind Heather and puts his arms around her.  

 

"Hmmmm, you smell nice,"  Heather says.  

 

"It's that new body wash you got me for Christmas.  I love it."

 

Heather turns around to face him.  "And I love you, Lucas Ewing."

 

"Lucas Ewing," he says.  "That's gonna take some getting use to after 29 years of being Lucas Krebbs.  But, I really like the sound of it."

 

"So do I",  says Heather.  "But I did feel a little sorry for Ray, though.  He looked so sad when you told him on Christmas Eve that you'd changed your name to Ewing."

 

"Yeah, he did.  I never meant to hurt Ray.  He's a good man, and he's been a really good father to me.  But, I really needed to do this.  After all, I AM  a Ewing.  It's about time I had the name.  Why Ray never changed his last name to Ewing, I'll never understand.  But this is something I had to do for myself, and for you and Michael.  I cannot WAIT until this Saturday, when you become Mrs. Lucas Ewing."

 

Heather smiles.  "Heather Ewing.  I definitely like the sound of that."

 

Lucas takes a seat on the bed, grabs Heather by the hand, pulls her to him, and kisses her.

 

"Hey, we'd better get downstairs for breakfast,"  Heather says.

 

 

 

 

 

"I say we should skip breakfast this morning,"  Lucas suggests with a smile. "I'm not very hungry, anyway.  At least not for food."

 

"But if we skip breakfast, what would we do with our morning?"  Heather asks in a seductive voice.

 

"Come here, and I'll show you a couple ideas I have about how we can spend our morning,"  Lucas says.

 

Heather smiles, slips off her blouse, then leans over and begins kissing Lucas.

 

 

Meanwhile....

John Ross comes downstairs just as Christopher and Courtney walk into the foyer.  "Well, mornin',"  John Ross says.

 

"Good morning, John Ross,"  Courtney says.

 

 

 

 

"Courtney, I guess you must have officially moved in here at Southfork with my cousin, since you're here all the time," John Ross says.

 

 

 

"Whether Courtney has moved in with me or not is none of your damned business, John Ross,"  Christopher says, annoyed.

 

"Don't get your panties all in a wad, Christopher,"  says John Ross.  "I was just makin' polite conversation.  "I think it's real nice.  You and Courtney in that bedroom downstairs, and your ex-girlfriend sleepin' with your brother upstairs."

 

"John Ross, you really are pushing......"

 

 

"It just so happens, that I have NOT moved into Southfork,"  Courtney says, interrupting Christopher before the argument goes further.  "I just got here.  I came out to have breakfast with Christopher and help Ann and Heather plan Heather's wedding."

 

"So you're helpin' your boyfriend's ex-girlfriend plan her weddin' to your broyfriend's brother?"  John Ross asks sarcastically.  "It's real nice you all get along so well."

 

"Yes, it is,"  Courtney says.  "Real nice."

 

"Now, if y'all will excuse me, I gotta head into town, so I won't be joinin' the fam'ly for breakfast this mornin'."

 

"Oh, I'm real disappointed about that,"  Christopher says.

 

John Ross looks at his cousin, smiles, then walks out.  

 

Christopher shakes his head.  

 

"Just ignore him,"  Courtney says.  

 

"Easier said than done."

 

Christopher and Courtney walk into the dining room, where Bobby, Ann, and Lucy are seated for breakfast.  

 

"What was that all about?"  Bobby asks. "That little scene with you and John Ross just now?"

 

"Just John Ross being his usual, charming self."

 

"Well, I think John Ross should be congratulated,"  Ann says.

 

"Congratulated, for what?"  Lucy asks.

 

 

 

"He behaved himself all through Christmas,"  Ann says with a smile, her comment causing the others to laugh.

The Omni Hotel....

Krystina opens the door to her hotel suite and finds John Ross standing before her.  "Mornin' darlin'," he says, kissing her as he walks into the suite.

 

Krystina closes the door behind him.  "John Ross, what are you doing here?"

 

"Well, I came, hopefully, to help ya pack your things so I can take you back home to Southfork."

 

"What makes you think that I'm coming back to Southfork?"

 

"Well, after the other night......."

 

"John Ross, the other night was wonderful," Krystina says.  "Being at Southfork with the family at Christmas, and watching the boys open their gifts, it was great."

 

"And then what happened afterward......"

 

"Yes.  Our lovemaking was also great.  But don't you think we're moving a little fast?"

 

"No, darlin', I don't,"  John Ross says.  "Krystina, we been separated for months.  We both made a lotta mistakes this year.  And we both had a lotta time to think. 2016 is almost over.  A new year is about to begin in just a few days.  What better time for us to start off fresh?"  John Ross moves close to her and takes her face in his hands.  "Can you honestly look me in the eye and tell me that what we shared on Christmas Eve was not magical?  That it was not the best night you've had in a LONG time?"

 

"No.  I can't tell you that, because it was.  John Ross, I still love you.  With all my heart, I love you, and I want to come back.  But part of me continues to wonder........can I trust you?"

 

"Don't you think part of me has had that same fear about you?  Krystina, you went to bed with a man whose guts I hate.  If I can get past your sleepin' with Brad Stone, then you should be able to forgive me for my affair with Brittany Ewing.  Let me take you home, Krystina, to Southfork, where you belong.  Let's start over.  New year, new beginnin'."

 

Krystina looks at him, then nods.  "Yes.  I'll come home with you.  But John Ross, I can't go through this again.  If you EVER cheat on me again........we're done."

 

"That's not somethin' you're gonna have to worry about,"  John Ross says, kissing her.

Sue Ellen's home....early afternoon

 

Sue Ellen and Catlin's Aunt Corrine are seated in Sue Ellen's sitting room at noon, looking at an old family photo album, when Catlin's sister Blaine Ewing Cory walks in.

 

"Hello, ladies," Blaine says.  

 

"Blaine,"  says Sue Ellen.  "Your Aunt Corrine was showing some old Ewing family photos."

 

"Aunt Corrine has always been the family historian, but don't let her bore you."

 

"On the contrary, I find this very interesting,"  says Sue Ellen.  "All the years I was married to J.R., I knew very little about his father's family.  I never even knew Jock had a brother until Jason Ewing died in, ummm......1984, I believe.  And I'd already been married into the family for thirteen years by then.  After Jason's death, his daughter Jamie came to Southfork to get to know the family."

 

"Is Jamie still around Dallas?"  Blaine asks.  "I know Bobby said that Jason's son Jack was killed almost two years ago.  I'd love to meet her."

 

"No," Sue Ellen replies sadly.  "I'm afraid that Jamie died years ago.  She was killed in a rock slide in California in 1987."

 

"Oh, what a shame,"  Corrine says.

 

"Yes.  Jamie was a very lovely young woman, and we became close friends."

 

"You said that you never knew that Jock had a brother until his death?"  Blaine asks.

 

"Yes.  Jock died in a helicopter crash in South America, and Jason died in Alaska almost three years later."

 

"So I take it the brothers weren't close."

 

"Not at all.  They'd had a big fight when they were younger, and never spoke to one another again."

 

"I remember when I was a little girl, Jason Ewing came to our house in Claxton once,"  Corrine says.  "He came to borrow money from my father, and I remember Jason was cursing Jock like there was no tomorrow.  I guess that must have been around the time of their falling out.  Daddy gave him the money, Jason left, and we never saw or heard from him again, and Daddy never got his money back."

 

"I'm not surprised, from everything I've heard about Jason Ewing.  He was a bit of a wanderer,"  Sue Ellen says.  

 

"Yes, that's why they called him Tumbleweed,"  Corrine says.  "Oh, after Jason failed to return and pay that money back, Daddy was highly upset and angry with him.  I can recall him telling Mama that if that no account nephew of his ever set foot on his land again, he was gonna beat the you-know-what out of him."

 

Sue Ellen and Blaine laugh.

 

"That young man who was at Southfork on Christmas, the one Selena was so taken with.  That's Jason's grandson?"  Corrine asks.

 

"Yes, Conner."

 

"He seems like a very nice boy,"  Blaine says.  "Handsome, too.  Just like all the Ewing men."

 

"Hey, you talking about me?"  Catlin asks, walking into the room with Blaine's husband, Sandy Cory.

 

"We were just talking,"  Blaine replies.  "Ladies talk," she continues as her cell phone rings.  She takes the phone from her pocket and looks at it.  "Oh, excuse me, I have to take this," she says, then leaves the room.

 

As Sandy takes a seat on the sofa and begins looking at the family album with Corrine, Sue Ellen walks over to Catlin.  "Is everything alright?"  She asks.

 

"Everything is great,"  Catlin replies. "Better than great.  I went to see Jay Smithfield this morning, and I asked Sandy to go with me.  Brittany should be receiving her divorce papers sometime today, with a very generous settlement offer she'd be crazy to turn down."

 

"Well, crazy is one way to describe Brittany,"  Sue Ellen says.  "I just hope that she accepts the settlement you offered, and gives you the divorce without any trouble."

 

"If she doesn't, and she wants a fight, then I'll give her one.  But Sue Ellen, I have to warn you. You could get dragged into this."

"Catlin, I'm ALREADY in this.  I love you, and whatever Brittany does, we'll be ready.  We'll fight her together if we have to, no matter how ugly it gets."

 

Catlin looks at her and smiles.  "You're an amazing woman, Sue Ellen," he says as Blaine comes back into the room, a puzzled look on her face.

 

"Honey, who was that?"  Sandy asks his wife.

 

 

 

 

"That was a job offer,"  Blaine replies.  "And a very tempting one, at that."

 

"You don't seem very happy about it,"  Catlin says.

 

Blaine sighs.  "I'm just not sure I can, or SHOULD take this job."

Southfork....that night

Christopher's car comes to a stop in the parking area at Southfork that night as he and Courtney are returning from dinner.  As they park, Courtney seems depressed.  

 

"You okay?"  Christopher asks.

 

"Yeah.  Just.........thinking."

 

"You're thinking about your little boy, aren't you?"

 

"Yes,"  Courtney replies.  "It's especially hard around the holidays.  I think about where he is. What he got for Christmas.  I imagine how he looked opening his presents.  And I wish I could give him a present."

 

Christopher reaches over and takes her hand.  "We're gonna find him," he says.  "I know this is moving a lot slower than you'd like, but believe me, Bum is the best P.I. in the business.  He'll find your little boy."

 

"I hope so,"  Courtney says.

 

"Come on, let's go in."  Christopher and Courtney get out of his car and head to the house.

 

A moment later, they walk into the foyer as Krystina is coming down the stairs.

 

"Krystina,"  says Christopher.

 

"Hi, guys."

 

"Krystina, it's good to see you," Courtney says.

 

"Thanks."

 

"I'm kinda surprised to see you here," says Christopher.

 

"Well, get use to it,"  John Ross says, coming down the stairs.  "Krystina's back home to stay."

 

"Yeah, I moved back in today," Krystina says.

 

"Well, that's GREAT,"  Courtney says, hugging Krystina.  "I'm really glad you guys worked things out."

 

"Thank you," Krystina says.

 

"Congratulations, John Ross," Christopher says.  

 

"I appreciate that.  We were just headin' out.  We're gonna pick up Alex at Charlie's, go into town and pick up Ann's nephew Shawn, and take the boys to the movies to see the new Star Wars."

 

"Sounds like a fun night,"  says Courtney.  "That's a really good movie.  Christopher and I saw it the other night."

 

"Well, see y'all later,"  John Ross says as he and Krystina walk out.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"Is it my imagination, or was John Ross being uncharacteristically nice just now?"  Christopher asks.

 

 

"Yeah, he was not his usual snide self.  Y'know what?  I think it's Krystina.  She's a good influence on him."

 

"Well, then I hope she really IS back home to stay for good this time,"  Christopher says as his cell phone rings.  He takes the phone from his pocket and looks at it.  "It's Bum," he says, then answers the call.

 

"Yeah, Bum, what's up?"  Christopher asks.  "Oh, really?  Where?  Yeah, we'll be there in twenty minutes."  He ends the call and looks at Courtney.

 

"What is it?"  She asks.

 

"Bum has found some information on the people who adopted your little boy.  He wants us to meet him  in town."

 

"Well, what are we waiting for?"

 

"Not a thing.  Let's go,"  Christopher says, he and Courtney rushing out.

Dallas.....a short time later

Christopher and Courtney walk into the restaurant atop Reunion Tower a short time later, and find Bum seated at a table.  They make their way over.  

 

"Bum, what's up?"  Christopher asks, he and Courtney taking seats across from him.

 

"You said that you found the couple who adopted my son?"  Courtney asks.

 

"Yeah," Bum says.  "The couple who initially adopted your son, Brian and Karen Fisher, left the Houston area shortly after the adoption.  They settled in Springfield, Illinois, and later moved to Los Angeles when Brian Fisher got a job transfer there.  But, I'm afraid I have some bad news."

 

"What?"  Courtney asks.  "Bum, what is it?"

 

"On June 11, 2010, the Fishers were killed in a car accident.  This was about six months after they moved to L.A."

 

"A car accident?  Oh my God,"  Courtney cries. "My son....."

 

"No,"  Bum says.  "The child was not in the car when the Fishers were killed."

 

"Oh thank God,"  Courtney says, breathing a sigh of relief.

 

"So what happened to the boy after his adoptive parents died?"  Christopher asks.

 

"Unfortunately, the Fishers had no family, except for Karen Fisher's sister.  Both her parents and Brian's parents had died by then, so for a while the little boy lived with Karen Fisher's sister, Mariah Crawford.  But, Mariah was about as unfit as they come as far as parenting goes."

 

"What does that mean?"  Courtney asks.

 

"Mariah Crawford was a meth addict.  And she would do literally anything to feed her habit, and pay for it.  She turned to prostitution, did a couple low budget porn films, and eventually, when the courts found out what kind of an environment your son, whose name is Jacob, child protective services stepped in and took the child.  He was placed in foster care, and eventually adopted again."

 

"Who adopted him the second time?"  Christopher asks.

 

"I'm still workin' on that,"  replies Bum.  "The court records were sealed, and they're gonna be hard to get."

 

"Bum, I don't care what it takes, or how much it costs,"  says Christopher.  "I want you to keep digging until you find the people who adopted Courtney's little boy, Jacob.  Pay off anyone you have to in order to get those records."

 

Bum nods.  "I'll keep digging.  I just thought you'd wanna know what I'd learned so far."

 

"Bum, thank you,"  Courtney says in tears.  "Thank you so much for this.  At least, now I know my son's name.  Jacob."

 

"Courtney, I told you.  We're gonna find Jacob,"  Christopher says, putting his arm around her.

Southfork....the next day

Early the next afternoon, Alex and Shawn are enjoying a game of basketball at Southfork. Even though the date was December 28, the Dallas area was experiencing an unseasonably warm day, with a record high of 82 degrees, and the heat compels both boys to shed their shirts during the game, tossing the garments onto the pavement.  As the boys' game of one-on-one continues, Alex tricks Shawn, tosses the ball between Shawn's legs, runs around him, takes the ball and shoots it, ringing the goal, scoring the final point and winning the game.  

 

"Well?"  Alex asks.  "Second game in a row I beat your ass in."

 

"Okay, bro,"  Shawn says, breathing hard from the strenuous game.  "You're one hell of a basketball player, I'll give you that."

 

Also out of breath, Alex smiles.  "Well, I grew up in New York.  Right down the street from a park.  I use to go there and play with some other guys from the neighborhood every day.  I learned to hold my own.  You, on the other hand, my friend, SUCK at basketball."

 

"Yeah, well, baseball was always my sport, anyway, and football."

 

"So you wanna play another game, or what do you wanna do?"  Alex asks.

 

"Didn't your Dad say we could go to the mall?"  Shawn asks.

 

"Yeah, he did,"  Alex says, grabbing his shirt and slipping it back on.  "Shawn, is everything okay, bro?  You've acted like somethin's bothering you ever since we picked you up for the movie last night.  You still pissed because your Mom's seeing Daniel Cooper's Dad?"

 

"Nah, I'm not worried about that," Shawn replies.  "Whatever's goin' on between my Mom and Dr. Cooper..... it aint gonna last."

 

"Oh yeah?  How do YOU know?"

 

"Because I'm not gonna let it," Shawn replies smoothly.  "I already had one father.  I don't need another.  But that's not the only thing on my mind."

 

"So what else is going on?"  Alex asks.

 

"My brother.  That's what's goin' on."

 

"Tripp McKay?  What about him?"

 

"Tripp has been gettin' pretty chummy with my Mom lately."

 

"Yeah, so?"  Alex asks.  "I mean, he IS her son."

 

"Well, just like I don't need another father, I don't need an older brother comin' into my life, telling me what to do, either.  But, I think I may have found something to keep big brother Tripp outta my way, at least for a while."

 

"Meaning what?"  Alex asks.

 

"Meaning.......I know a little secret about Tripp's lovely wife, Pamela.  Alex, what can you tell me about her?  She was married to your Dad, wasn't she?"

 

"Yeah, she was, but that before I ever came here and before I even knew John Ross was my real father,"  says Alex.  "So, I can't really tell you anything about her.  What's this big secret you know?"

 

Shawn slips on his shirt and then looks at his friend.  "Well, don't tell anyone about this, but, Pamela cheated on my brother."

 

"No way!"  Alex says, almost in excitement.  "Dude, how do you know?"

 

"I overheard Pamela and her Mom talking about it on Christmas Eve.  Pamela got knocked up with this other guy's kid, and Tripp doesn't even know she's pregnant.  And when he finds out....."

 

"Shawn, dude, this is really gonna him,"  says Alex.  "It could even break up his marriage."

 

 

 

 

 

 

"Yeah,"  Shawn says.  "That's what I'm countin' on."

Meanwhile....

Bobby and John Ross are standing in the family room at Southfork.  Bobby pours John Ross a drink and hands it to him, then pours himself one as Christopher walks in.

 

"Okay, I'm here,"  Christopher says.  "What's this all about?"

 

"John Ross wanted to talk to both of us,"  says Bobby.

 

 

 

 

 

"Y'know, John Ross, I'm really getting tired of being summoned like this," Christopher says.

 

"John Ross, what is it you wanted to talk to us about?"  Bobby asks.

"I think I might have a way for us to deal with our Tripp McKay problem,"  John Ross replies.

 

"I'm almost afraid to ask," Christopher remarks.

 

"Okay, I'll bite,"  says Bobby.  "What'd you have in mind?"

 

"I been usin' this holiday time away from the office to go through some of Ewing Oil's assets, both old AND new, and we have a couple fields that we no longer pump to full capacity.  So, I was thinkin', we sell those wells, or use them as collateral to get a loan so that we can buy out Westar's share of the Colby wells."

 

"That wouldn't be a bad idea, John Ross, except for one thing,"  Bobby says.  "I seriously doubt that McKay'd be willing to sell, especially to us."

 

"That's where we get smart,"  John Ross says.  "We get a third party to approach McKay with an offer to buy those wells.  He sells to said third party, then we turn around and buy 'em.  Everybody wins."

 

"Nah, McKay's smarter'n that,"  says Christopher.  "He'd check out any potential buyer."

"Then we make damn sure that buyer is squeaky clean, and someone McKay can trust."

 

As the three men continue their conversation in the family room, Alex and Shawn walk into the foyer from the living room.  Hearing John Ross and the others talking, the boys stop and listen outside the door.

 

"John Ross, anyone McKay could trust is not someone WE could trust to pull this off," says Christopher.

 

"Then maybe Jill could help,"  John Ross says.  "She's mad as hell at McKay right now for bootin' her outta Westar, and she's out for the guy's blood. Maybe she knows someone, a business associate of Westar's that SHE could trust to pull this off."

 

Christopher shakes his head.  "It's not gonna work."

 

"How the hell do you know, if we don't even try?"  John Ross asks, anger in his voice.

 

"I agree with Christopher,"  Bobby says.  "I think that, for now, we're just gonna have to sit back and accept the fact that Westar is our partner in that California field."

 

"Well you and Christopher might be willin' to accept Tripp McKay as our partner in those wells, but I sure as hell will NEVER accept that man as my partner in ANYTHING!"

 

"Do I have to remind you that YOU'RE the one who got us into this in the first place?"  Asks an angry Christopher.

 

At that moment, Bobby looks up and sees that Shawn and Alex are listening.  "Fellas," he says, motioning toward the door.  John Ross and Christopher turn and look toward the foyer. "Boys, come on in,"  Bobby tells them.

"We were just coming in from playing basketball,"  Alex says.

 

"Yeah,"  Shawn says.

 

"You fellas hear what we were talkin' about?"  John Ross asks.

 

"No, we didn't,"  Shawn replies quickly.

 

"You sure 'bout that?  Alex?"

 

"No, we didn't hear anything," Alex lies.

 

"Yeah, like we said, we just came in," Shawn says.  

 

"Ummm, can we still go to the mall?"  Alex asks.

 

"I'm a little busy right now, but, Alex, can I trust you to take my car and be real careful?"

 

"Yeah, you bet."

 

John Ross reaches into his pocket and takes out his keys.  He tosses them to Alex.  "Here. Now remember, that car itn't a toy.  You drive the speed limit and not a mile over.  Just go to the mall, hang out for a couple hours, and come right back, understand?"

 

"Yeah, we got it," Alex says.  "We'll be real careful," he says, then he and Shawn head up the stairs.

 

"Think they heard what we were saying?"  Christopher asks.

 

"Even if they did, what difference does it make?"  John Ross asks.

 

"Shawn is Tripp McKay's kid brother.  He could run back and tell Tripp what he heard."

 

"Don't worry about that,"  says John Ross.  "I'll take care of Shawn."

Brad Stone's apartment....

As Brad's doorbell rings, he comes out of his bedroom, just getting out of the shower, a towel wrapped around his waist and his hair and upper body still wet.  He makes his way across his living room as the doorbell rings again.  "I'm coming, hold on," he yells.  He opens the door and finds Brittany in the hall.

 

"Brittany," he says, surprised to see her.

 

Brittany looks at Brad's body and smiles.  "Well, hello.  You must have known I was coming."

 

"No, I just got out of the shower.  Come in."

 

"Thank you,"  she says, walking into the apartment.  

 

Brad closes the door and turns to her.  "What brings you over?  Not that I'm complaining."

 

"I was just wondering.......is that offer of a place to stay still open?" 

 

"Of course."

 

"Good.  I'm sick and tired of staying in a hotel, and John Ross has certainly made good on his promise that I wouldn't be able to find a place to live in Dallas.  I've tried everywhere, and no one will rent an apartment to me."

 

"That is descrimination, and against the law,"  Brad says.  

 

"John Ross.....that son of a bitch, and I do mean that in the most LITERAL sense......I'm gonna make him sorry for messing with me."

 

"Hey, don't worry,"  Brad says, moving closer to her.  "I have money, power, and influence, too.  If you wanna stay in Dallas......"

 

"Of course I wanna stay in Dallas,"  Brittany says.  "My son is here."

"Good.  Then I'll help you any way I can.  And you're more than welcome to stay here as long as you like."

 

Brittany places her hands on Brad's bare chest.  "And, how much would you charge me for rent?"

 

"No rent,"  Brad says.

 

"So what's the price of room and board?"  Brittany asks, seductively.

 

Brad looks at her for a second, smiles, then kisses her.  After a moment, he looks at her again.  "Oh, I think that we can make this a mutually beneficial arrangement, Mrs. Ewing.  We can play, and we can conduct business, all from right here in this apartment."

 

"Business?  What.....business?"

 

"Getting even with John Ross."

 

"Have I ever told you that I find a desire revenge VERY sexy in a man?"  Brittany asks.

 

 

Brad pushes Brittany down on the sofa, then removes the towel from his waist, dropping it to the floor.  As Brittany smiles, Brad leans down over her, then begins kissing her passionately. Still locked in the kiss, Brittany begins to undress as she and Brad begin to make love.

Southfork....that night

John Ross is standing alone by the pool at Southfork that night, deep in thought, when the sliding glass patio doors open and Shawn steps onto the patio.  At first, John Ross's concentration is on his thoughts, and he doesn't hear Shawn when he comes out of the house.  

 

"Mr. Ewing.........John Ross?"  Shawn calls to him.

 

John Ross turns to face the boy.  "Well, Shawn.  Evenin'."

 

"Gettin' colder out here,"  Shawn says, closing the sliding glass doors and walking onto the patio.

 

"Yes it is."

 

"I saw you come out here a couple minutes ago.  Alex is taking a shower, so I was hoping we could talk."

 

"Talk?"  John Ross asks.  "Sounds serious, is it about Alex?"

 

"Oh, no, not at all," Shawn replies.  "It's about my brother, Tripp.  Alex and I lied to you earlier today.  We did hear some of what you and your uncle and cousin were talking about."

 

"I had a feelin' you did," John Ross says. "So what exactly did you hear?"

 

"We heard you talking about my brother and how you didn't want him as a partner in some oil wells or something.  It's pretty obvious you don't like my brother."

 

"Yeah, well, that's an understatement if there ever was one,"  John Ross says.  

 

"Good.  I feel the same way,"  says Shawn.  "I don't like Tripp, either.  Maybe I can be of some use to you.  If we put our heads together, we can come up with a way to get Tripp out of both our hair."

 

"Shawn, McKay is your brother," John Ross says.  "You really expect me to believe that you'd work with me against him?"

 

"Tripp and I may share the same mother, but, I really don't want or need a big brother. And to prove to you that I'm on the up and up, I know a little secret about Tripp's wife, Pamela, your ex-wife."

 

"Really?  And what secret might that be?"  John Ross asks.

 

"Before we get to that, I'd like to know what's in it for me if I help you.  I mean, other than getting my brother out of my hair for a while."

 

"Well, why don't you just share this little secret with me, and we'll decide what your help is worth to me."

 

Shawn nods.  "Pamela's pregnant, and my big bro doesn't even know it yet."

 

"So?  How the hell is that a secret that's gonna help me?"  John Ross asks.

 

Shawn looks at him and smiles slightly.  "Well, see here's the thing.  Tripp isn't the father of Pamela's baby.  My brother's wife cheated on him and got knocked up by another guy.  I guess he wasn't doin' his job in the bedroom."

 

"You sure 'bout this?"  John Ross asks.  "How do you even know this?"

 

"I heard Pamela and her Mom talking on Christmas Eve.  Pamela was really upset and worried about how she was gonna tell Tripp she's pregnant with another man's kid.  And from the looks of things at Christmas, Tripp and Pamela's marriage is under a LOT of strain. Anyone could see it by the way they acted.  Something like this could just push those two over the edge.  Now, I know that your company and my brother's company are bitter rivals, so, if Tripp were having a lot of personal problems at home, such as his wife getting pregnant by someone else, and his marriage crumbling........then he'd be too distracted to concentrate on business."

 

John Ross walks over to the boy.  "You really hate your brother enough to screw up his marriage?"

 

"Yeah, I do.  Tripp grew up with a silver spoon in his mouth.  He never wanted for anything. And now, he's running his own damned oil company.  When my Mom first came to Dallas to see him, he treated her like CRAP.  He thought he was better than both of us.  So yeah, I think it's time Tripp was brought down a notch."

 

"I knew there was a reason I like you, kid. Now, granted, this little secret of Pamela's could be useful in gettin' McKay a little distracted from business, but maybe you could be useful to me in another way, and of course I'd make it worth your while."

 

"So, what do you have in mind?"  Shawn asks.

 

"I want you to get close to your brother."

 

"What?"

 

"Get close to him.  Bond with him.  Don't let on that you know anything about this little secret of Pamela's.  Shawn, I want you to become your big brother's best friend.  And while you're bondin' with Tripp..........spy on him.  Find out all you can about what he's up to at Westar.  Find out what deals he's workin' on, that kinda thing.  And, most important, find out if Cliff Barnes is workin' with your brother."

 

"You mean.....Pamela's Dad?"  Shawn asks.

 

"That's right.  Now that his son-in-law is in power at Westar, I wouldn't put it past Barnes to use that, and use your brother, to once again come after Ewing Oil and my fam'ly.  If that happens, I wanna know about it in advance."

 

"Consider it done,"  Shawn says.  

 

"Good, good."

 

"Oh, and John Ross.......you said you'd make it worth my while?"

 

"That's right,"  John Ross says. "You do this little job for me, and you'll be well paid.  At 17, I'm real sure you could use a steady source of income, especially the kinda income I'm willin' to pay you for doin' this."

 

"Yes, sir. I sure could use the money."

 

"Then we have a deal,"  John Ross says, extending his hand.  Shawn shakes his hand, then John Ross pulls him close and puts his arm around the boy.  "Oh, and one other thing, Shawn.  You're a smart kid.  REAL smart, so, I'm trustin' you to know better than to try and double cross me.  You breathe a word of this to your brother, your mama, or anybody, and that includes Alex.....then you and your mama may as well just start packin' and get as far away from Dallas as you can, because I'll make both your lives a livin' hell.  You're my son's best friend, and I'd sure hate for us to become enemies.  Do I make myself clear?"

 

 

"Oh yeah.  Real clear,"  Shawn says.  "Don't worry, I have no intention of crossin' YOU, John Ross.  Alex is a lucky guy, havin' you for a father.  He could learn a lot from you, and I think I can, too.  I loved my Dad, but he never really taught me anything because he was in jail or prison most of my life."

 

John Ross places his hand on the boy's shoulder and nods.  "Alex should be outta the shower by now.  It's gettin' late.  You go on in to bed."

 

"Goodnight,"  Shawn says.

 

"Night," John Ross says as Shawn walks back into the house.  John Ross smiles.

END OF EPISODE 127....

 

                               ALSO STARRING

 

AUDREY LANDERS

                    as Afton Cooper

 

CODY ALLEN CHRISTIAN

                    as Shawn Smith

 

ANNALYNNE McCORD

                    as Heather McCabe

 

LUCY HALE

                    as Courtney Wapner

 

THOMAS IAN GRIFFITH

                     as Catlin Ewing

 

SELA WARD

                      as Blaine Ewing Cory

 

CHRISTOPHER RICH

                      as Sandy Cory

 

IAN HARDING

                      as Alex Cory

 

EVA MARIE SAINT

                      as Corrine Ewing Hodges

 

CONNOR PAOLO

                      as Conner Ewing

 

PEYTON LIST

                      as Selena Collier

 

LEIGH McCLOSLEY

                      as Dr. Mitch Cooper

 

ZAK HENRI

                      as Daniel Cooper

 

SHARI SHATTUCK

                      as Sharon Smith

Write a comment

Comments: 9
  • #1

    Janie fleischer (Wednesday, 04 January 2017 19:48)

    Absolutely edge of your seat drama. I couldn't believe all the back stabbing in old Ewing style I was reading. I am so glad that Christoper got more time in this episode. I think he and Courtney make an excellent couple and there is a great story line there. I really enjoyed this episodes. Thank you John

  • #2

    Linda Carman (Wednesday, 04 January 2017 21:20)

    Loved this episode. Glad John Ross and Krystina sure back together. You always leave me wanting more. Thank you John.

  • #3

    Kathy (Thursday, 05 January 2017 00:59)

    So happy that John Ross and Krystina are back together. Fantastic episode John. Quite interesting how you bought the Ewing/Cory family into the mix.

  • #4

    Ada Vincent (Thursday, 05 January 2017 18:11)

    Really good writing. Can't wait for the next episode

  • #5

    Karen Duckworth (Sunday, 08 January 2017 09:39)

    John,
    Once again I feel like I am truly "back" to the original Dallas. ...reading your series has brought the Ewing family full circle to include moving forward with the new generation. You are keeping Dallas alive, and I so appreciate ALL your hard work and dedi

  • #6

    Karen Duckworth (Sunday, 08 January 2017 09:42)

    As I was saying, I so appreciate your hard work and dedication to keeping "Dallas" alive!! Keep 'em comin', darlin!!

  • #7

    Shirley Cotton (Monday, 09 January 2017 15:47)

    Gosh I just finished about the last 5 episode and am so rived up I dont know why I could not find the last episodes for so long Thanks so much for the great writing I do hope I can find the next episode before too long Thanks so so much John

  • #8

    Julia Cherri (Wednesday, 08 March 2017)

    Oh John, I just finished this episode and so enjoyed it. I really was behind in my reading and I feel I am almost caught up. I am enjoying each and every episode. Thank you so very much John for all your hard work. God Bless you honey. I am going to try and read the next episode tonight, if my shoulder and back will allow me to sit long enough., Thank you again John.

  • #9

    Kimberly (Tuesday, 30 May 2017 20:57)

    John this one absolutely awesome that Kristina and Jon Ross are back together and she living back at south fork! I wish things in real life would happen like this in stead of people breaking up or getting divorced there's to much of that in this world I am also glad that Courtney son that her and Christopher and bum are getting closer to finding Jacob. I also think that Shawn should keep his mouth closed about what he hears about Pamela and Pregnancy by another man. He has no idea that Pamela did nothing that psycho mad man did it all so its not Pamela's fault. But she better tell Tripp before he hears it from John Ross or someone else and if that happens she might as well even with considering she was rapped and there's a by on the way she conceder her marriage over I hate the say that but it looks like that's going to happen sooner then later. Shawn don't know what his doing getting to deals with his best friends dad John Ross he can go a head a say good bye to Alex now cause there will be a lot trouble that's on horizon. Well that's all I got for tonight so I cant wait until Episode 128. So Good Night!